The Au Café restaurant and café has been writing its story since 1827. In the unique setting of the oldest public park in Europe, it offers a blend of tradition, elegance, and honest gastronomy.
A story that has been written for almost two centuries
The opening of a new café on the right bank of the Danube, named Au Café
The property becomes owned by Roth, and in 1871 the innkeeper František Pohl
Anton Apfel introduces, in addition to the café, also a restaurant at Au Café
Karl von Palugyay elevates Au Café to the level of a more luxurious restaurant
The new owner, Otto Kolln, gives Au Café the sophistication of a metropolis
From July 31 to August 18, grand celebrations are held – Au Café turns 100 years old
A long period of decline of the property culminates in its demolition
On September 12, Au Café was ceremonially reopened by the Romanov family